Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Summary

Shadow Copy is a feature running on the server bsp-nas that allows Windows users to restore network files and folders. Users can quickly and easily perform the recovery instead of the server team for recently deleted, overwritten or corrupted network files and folders.

Note: Recovery of files and folders using Shadow copy is generally limited to the past two days. In addition there may be times when previous versions may not be available due to server issues. If there are no previous versions available, then you will need to contact the Help Desk to have the server team perform the restore from tape.

 

Recovering a Deleted File

  1. Navigate to the folder in which the deleted file had been stored.

  2. Position the cursor over a blank area in the folder and right-click.

  3. Select Properties from the bottom of the menu.

     

  4. Select the Previous Versions tab. 

     

  5. Select the version of the folder that contains the file before it was deleted, and then click Open.

     

  6. View the folder and select the file that will be recovered. 

  7. Drag and drop, or cut and paste, the shadow copy to the desktop or the original folder from which you selected to restore a previous version. You may have to shrink and move the two windows in order to see them simultaneously.

Recovering an Overwritten or Corrupted File

Recovering an overwritten or corrupted file is easier than recovering a deleted file because the file itself can be right-clicked instead of the folder. To recover an overwritten or corrupted file, use the following procedure and refer to the pictures above:

  1. Right-click the overwritten or corrupted file and select Properties.

  2. Select the Previous Versions tab. 

  3. If you want to view the old version, click Open. To copy the old version to another location, click Copy. To replace the current version with the older version, click Restore.

Recovering a Deleted Folder

To recover a folder that was deleted, use the following procedure and refer to the pictures above: 

  1. Navigate to the folder or location where the deleted folder was once stored.

  2. Position the cursor over a blank area of that folder or location and right-click.

  3. Select Properties from the bottom of the menu.

  4. Click the Previous Versions tab. 

  5. Select either Copy or Restore. (Choosing Restore enables the user to recover everything in that folder as well as all subfolders. Selecting Restore will not delete any files.)